Sex Offender Registration Act
Client Reviews From Sex Offender Registration Act Cases
"I HAVE NEVER HAD A LAWYER WORK SO HARD TO GET ME A FAIR SHAKE. CIERA ARGUED AND ARGUED, AND NOW I AM OUT OF JAIL AND ABLE TO BE WITH MY FAMILY AGAIN. THANKS!" T.W. - 10/31/17
" I LOVE YOU GUYS. YOU SAVED MY LIFE!" N.B. - 10/30/17
Time is of the Essence When Picking the Best Tulsa Criminal Defense Attorney:
First and foremost, call us right away at 918-884-7791. Whenever you get arrested on such a serious charge, time is of the essence. Anyone arrested has certain constitutional rights that attach at the time of arrest that need to be asserted right away to protect you, your friend or family member. The police and the DA will be doing everything in their power to gather incriminating evidence. Just like the police, you should have a team gathering evidence and statements from Day 1.
DON’T TALK AND DON’T GIVE A STATEMENT.
DON’T TALK TO PEOPLE IN JAIL, OR TO FAMILY OVER THE PHONE ABOUT YOUR CASE.
EVERY MINUTE YOU GO WITHOUT AN EXPERIENCED ATTORNEY PUTS YOU AT RISK.
DON’T HIRE JUST ANY ATTORNEY. MAKE SURE THEY ARE A SUCCESSFUL TRIAL ATTORNEY.
What is the Sex Offender Registration Act?
The Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act, also known as SORNA, is part of a comprehensive federal law that requires states to maintain a system for monitoring and tracking convicted sex offenders following their release into the community.
Who Must Register as a Sex Offender?
According to the Oklahoma Sex Offender Registration Act, anyone convicted of a sex crime after the Act took effect must register with local law enforcement as a sex offender. The term of registration ranges from 15 years to life, depending on the risk level ascribed to the specific offense.
What are the Consequences of becoming a Sex Offender?
Oklahoma sex offenders face an large number of rules, restrictions, and penalties. In addition to providing address verification to local law enforcement, sex offenders must notify law enforcement if they will be leaving the state or visiting the state. They may be required to wear a GPS ankle monitor, and certain sex offenders will be required to have the words “SEX OFFENDER” blazoned across their drivers’ licenses.
Sex offenders are not allowed to live within 2,000 feet of a school or child care facility, which makes more than 80 percent of Oklahoma City off-limits for residency. If a person is convicted of a sex crime against a child younger than 13, he or she may not enter within a 500 foot “zone of safety” near schools, day cares, playgrounds, or parks. A sex offender may not live with another sex offender, and if the crime involved children, he or she may not live in a home with children, unless the children are his or her own kids and they were not the victims of the crime.
Failure to Register as a Sex Offender
No person may be convicted of failing to register as a sex offender unless the State has proved beyond a reasonable doubt each element of the crime. These elements are:
(1) the person has (been convicted of) / (received a suspended sentence for) / (received a probationary term for) / (received a deferred judgment for) [specify the particular crime listed in 57 O.S. 2011, § 582];
(2) the person received notice that he/she was required to register as a sex offender;
(3) the person failed to register with the (Department of Corrections) / ([specify the particular local law enforcement agency in 57 O.S. 2011, § 583(A) for the area where the person resides or intends to reside]) / (Department of Corrections and the [specify the particular local law enforcement agency for the area where the person resides or intends to reside]);
(4) (within (three (3)) / (two (2)) business days after) / (at least three (3) business days before) [specify the particular event in 57 O.S. 2011, § 582 that triggered the registration requirement]. OUJI-CR 3-40
Sex Offender Engaging in Ice Cream Truck Vending - Punishment
Any sex offender required to be registered pursuant to the Oklahoma Sex Offenders Registration Act who engages in ice cream truck vending, whether or not licensed in this state as a mobile food unit, shall be, upon conviction, punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for a term up to two and one-half (2 1/2) years, or by a fine in an amount not exceeding One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment. A sheriff or police officer may arrest without a warrant any person who the officer has probable cause to believe has violated the provisions of this section. 21 O.S. 2100.1
Sex Offender Registration Act (SORA)
Both First and Second Degree Rape require that you register under the Sex Offender Registration Act (SORA).
Charged with a Sex Offense in Oklahoma
Rape, and other Sex Offenses, are not only some of the most serious crimes that a person can be charged with, but they carry some of the most extensive and lasting consequences if convicted. Individuals convicted of a sex crime, are required to register as a sex offender, which will affect where they can live, work, and travel for the rest of their life. Beyond that, the emotional toll it will take on the person and their family is immeasurable.
Unfortunately, when it comes to allegations of Rape or other Sex Crimes, many people have a tendency to see the accused person as guilty until proven innocent. This is the opposite of how it should be. It can quickly turn into a witch-hunt without the proper legal representation. This can be very frustrating and you will want to protest. The danger is that even your words of protest and your attempts to explain may be twisted and used against you. You must be very very careful.
This is an overwhelming, stressful, and uncertain time for both you and your family. Let an experienced team of attorneys help guide you through this scary time. Make sure that your attorney is experienced, aggressive, and compassionate.
Other Sex Crimes
Sex Crime Definitions
What is the Sex Offender Registration Act?
Sex Offender Registration Act Litigation Expertise
Rape and other Sex Offense charges in Oklahoma require an aggressive defense. No matter which sex offense charges you face, it is important to have an attorney who will help you navigate the complex judicial system and provide you with a clear understanding of the charges you face. When defending sex crime charges, it is necessary to obtain experienced, aggressive, and compassionate representation quickly. The smallest detail or piece of evidence can make all the difference. The longer you wait to hire a criminal defense attorney the greater the stress and the greater the advantage to the prosecution.